Alumni Voices: Caylin Moore

djb_0054-1024x682

Caylin Moore is a Verbum Dei High School alumnus. Now a senior at Texas Christian University, Moore is about to embark on an incredible journey as a Rhodes Scholar.

How did you find and ultimately choose Cristo Rey?

I found out about Verbum Dei from my youth football coach. He told me that his son was currently attending Verbum Dei, and that it was like a little college. It gave me an image of something that would create opportunities for me in the future, so I happily inquired about the school.

How was your Cristo Rey high school experience?

Great. I personally loved it and grew from it tremendously.

What elements of your Cristo Rey education stand out?

The Corporate Work Study Program stood out to me tremendously. My friends’ resumes could not compare to my own coming out of high school. The Corporate Work Study Program also encouraged me to continually build upon my resume and seek out many other opportunities.

How did Cristo Rey prepare you for college?

The academics were very rigorous and the expectations were high. As a result, I now have higher grades in college (3.934 GPA) than I did in high school (Cumulative 3.6 GPA).

What are you up to now?

I am currently a senior student-athlete at Texas Christian University. I am majoring in Economics with a minor in Mathematics and Sociology with a cumulative GPA of 3.934. I am a Division-one football player at TCU as well.

What are your plans for the future?

I am a 2017 Rhodes Scholar, therefore I plan to study at Oxford University for my MSC in Sociology and my MPP Masters of Public Policy directly after I graduate in May of 2017.

Leave a Reply

